the circular runner

Quirk-o-meter coming soon…

In Uncategorized on September 21, 2008 at 8:50 am

I’ve been looking for a theme for this site, and one thing that coes to mind is that I love the quirky-fringe stuff that makes communities what they are.  Today, in my role as a Culture Intern for the SF Bay Guardian, I went to an erotica boot camp and interviewed budding photographrs and models who were exposing themselves.  Then, I followed that up by doing an interview with the GM of the San Francisco Bombers–woohoo.  He was a great guy.  Everyone I met today was great, actually.

The point here is not that they were great, however.  The real point is that after all is said and done, the best way to tie in all my interests and make a viable blog is to admit to myself that what I love best is the quirky, the odd, but not the sexy oddities.  I don’t mind the tats and piercings.  It’s fine.  Except that a lot of it seems for show, and not out of real self expression.

All of this to say, that starting tomorrow, I will start a weekly (could become more regular) piece on the quirky people that live here in San Fran.  There are a lot of them.  And I am excited to start covering them.  Stay tuned!!

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

