the circular runner

the Teaching Life…

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2010 at 6:27 am

I’m a teacher.  Most days, aside from the usual little run-ins with students, my job is a good one.  But the other night, I experienced the the emotional extremes of the job.  In one class, I almost killed a student who one hour later, I wanted to hug.

I teach English at a vocational school–one of those places that you see commercials for during the day.  This means that my students often don’t want to take my class even though they have to.  I try to make my classes as painless as possible, but still, there’s only so much a teacher can do.

Every class is different and like individuals, each has its own personality.  In one of my late-night classes, I have a student who often complains all the time.  He’s in his thirties, but whines like an old lady.  I try not to let him bother me, but the other night, I couldn’t deal.  I didn’t say anything, but I’m pretty sure he got the message from the look I shot him.

I normally would’ve just felt guilty over this, but later that night, I had a chance to read this complaining student’s draft of his first paper, and I was moved.  He had gotten the asignment, which was challenging, in a way that I would never have thought possible.  Though he’s not always the most mature person in person, he is one of the wisest writers I’ve read in a long time.  How does that happen?

Leave a Reply

