the circular runner

boredom…

In Uncategorized on May 19, 2010 at 7:55 pm

I feel it often.  I didn’t used to, not like I do now, and I fear that it just will get worse as I get older.  I remember a few years back, my father making a comment about life just being boring, and I remember realizing that this was proof: he was depressed.  Now, a decade later and nowhere as old my father had been when he told me about his boredom, I’m feeling it creep in, and it scares me.

But here’s a question I ask myself–one that still does not bore me and in a perverse way give me hope.  Is the boredom I’m feeling the same emotion that my students are expressing to me.  I spoke about this class last week–they’re the hotshots I teach twice a week.  I teach in a vocational school (I think they’re called career colleges now) and I am teaching some of the kids who have agreed that they want the AA so they can go on to a four year college.  They’re smart kids–there’s no doubt about it, but they constantly are complaining about the readings being boring.  Everything’s boring.  Even a kid who loos like a nerd, a soft-spoken kid who wears polo shirts buttoned up to his Adam’s Apple, even he is complaining.  I don’t want my kids to be bored.  That is by no means my goal, but there it is.  They are, and I, the person who is supposed to help them along with their educations, though not bored, know whay they’re feeling.  At least I think I do.  And yet I’m unable to do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

