the circular runner

why are we all scared?

In teaching & education, Uncategorized on June 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

In a word, our discussion on sexual orientation was piss poor. We’re coming to the end of the quarter, and about half my students did not read, which made it difficult to discuss the texts. That said, we did have a little back and forth about the gay community and I was surprised to find a number of women who not only were uncomfortable about gay men, a couple were deeply troubled by it. I know that this heterosexism on the part of straight people (men and women) is no new discovery, but I can’t help but wonder what would happen if some of these women had a child who was gay. My hope is that they would learn to love and appreciate their children, but I’m not so sure from the way they spoke.

I don’t want to sound noble on this one. I have my own discomforts–not with gay men and women having the same rights as me–that’s the only moral (yes I used the word in this context) side to take. But, when I have gone to gay bars with friends, I have felt some discomfort mainly, I think, because I didn’t want anyone thinking I’m gay. If I was so progressive on the topic, why would I care? Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

