the circular runner

Uruguay, why don’t people love you the way you deserve?

In Uncategorized on June 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

I was surfing around looking for some scores on today’s Uruguay-South Korea match and I was struck by one consistency: almost every comment I read on every blog said that Korea should win. I understand the Asian bloggers and maybe I get the US fans, like this one at a blog I just discovered: To Be An Electric Telegraph But you Latin Americans, what the f$%k? I read Brazilians, Mexicans, Guatemalans, etc. rooting for South Korea. Why?

Don’t get me wrong? I don’t have a problem with Korea, and yes, I do have family from Uruguay, but even if I didn’t, I still think it makes no sense that Latinos are not united on this one. Uruguay is a tiny country. It is completely an underdog, here. And yet…there’s no love.

Well, I love you, Uruguay and though I very much love kim-chi, today, it’s about empanadas.

Leave a Reply

