the circular runner

Ken Tucker, you suck!!!

In writers & books on November 11, 2010 at 10:24 pm
Cover of The Bride Stripped Bare

Image via Wikipedia

I am a big fan of NPR’s Fresh Air with Terry Gross.  Some people don’t like her voice.  Some people think her questions are inane.  I don’t.  I think she always listens and allows her guests to talk, and that is unusual nowadays.  I also love the variety she brings to the show.  Artists one day.  Politicians the next.  Really great.

That said, at the end of most shows, she has reviews–sometimes books, sometimes, rock or jazz albums, movies and TV shows–and except for the TV critic, David Bianculli, they all suck.  Lloyd Schwartz, the classical critic, sometimes tries a little too hard to emote about Bach, as Maureen Corrigan does when she starts in on an author she loves.  I’d hate the movie critic, David Eddelstein, more except that he’s consistent.  Basically, I know to do whatever he tells me not to do.  If Mr. Eddelstein loves something, I know I’ll hate it.

As much as these lovely souls bother me, I don’t hate any of them as much as I hate Ken Tucker.  He is either generous to a fault as a critic, being bribed by the record companies, or he just sucks.  I can’t say I know for sure, but I have a pretty good idea I know which of these categories he falls into.  If you don’t believe me, check out this review for the recent Bryan Ferry album.  The prose is purple.  The music is horrible.  It’s like the guy has no ear for music or language, which is a pretty dire condition for a music critic.

Here’s the link:

http://www.npr.org/2010/11/10/131221401/bryan-ferry-s-olympia-lets-cracks-shine-through

Leave a Reply

