the circular runner

why I know I’m old: I just don’t get Tumblr…

In media, observations, Uncategorized, writers & books on May 31, 2011 at 9:48 am

I’m kind of old.  Old enough that people–my students–are starting to tease the white whiskers in beard, but I’m still young enough….  Damn, I can’t think of anything.  OK, fine, I’m of the middle-ages.  I don’t think about age usually, but what with the blog and with my own writing and with trying to get people to read my writing, I’m always looking to learn new things about social media.  I like Facebook, blogging, and I’m even into Twitter.  But a few weeks back while planning for a fundraiser, I came across a guy who was raving about Tumblr.  Well, I just don’t get it.  I love people’s pages.  I love the themes–there are really some beautifully laid out pages, but I can’t figure out how to do it myself.  I’m feeling old.

All of this would be fine except that recently, I joined this writing project called 52 Stories where I have to write a short story every week for a year, and if the writing wasn’t enough, YUP, you guessed it, we are using Tumblr.

So I have no choice. This old man is going to start Tumbl’n–or whatever the proper verb is–with the young’ns.

Leave a Reply

