the circular runner

update: a new site, a new published story, and other bits of news

In life, media, Uncategorized, writers & books on June 24, 2011 at 6:01 am

step right up...

This week, I’ve been struggling with the flu.  I’m slowly on the mend, and I’ve been wanting to share a few things.  Not to be all SF-Buddhist-lite, but it is easy to take your health for granted.  Being in bed when all I wanted to do was write is heartbreaking.  (How’s that for melodrama?)

In any case, a few things of note:

1.  I have a new site that I think is much more reader-friendly and which will allow me to make changes/updates/additions to new work.  So please check out the site and tell me what you think.  Here’s the link:

2.  I’ve just had a piece accepted by Quiet Lightning, a pretty groovy monthly reading series here in SF that also publishes an accompanying anthology called Sparkle & Blink.  I’m honored.  The events are great and well-attended.  That said, I am a little nervous because I am no performer.  Still, I’ll make do.  Gots to get the word out.

3.  If you’ve been keeping up with the blog, then you know that a few weeks back, I made this pact with myself that I would write a flash-fiction piece every week for a year as part of this group of writers on Tumblr called, appropriately enough, 52 Stories,   This past Monday, I posted again.  So that’s 3 down, 49 stories to go.  I don’t know why, but these past couple stories, I just seem to be using the space for fables of a sort.  I like fables, so I guess it makes sense, and the site only allows 1000 words–it’s the Tumblr crowd, after all.  But I didn’t see this fable/children’s tales thing coming.  That said, next week’s story, which I hope to have done on Sunday, is currently titled, “The Boy Whose Hair Wept”.  So that gives you an idea.

4.  Last thing: I may be up for a pretty great job teaching creative writing to young adults.  I can’t give details right now, but keep a good thought.

OK, that’s it for now.  Time for me to take another Benadryl and sleep.

  1. Love the new site.

    I think you mean, “Still, I’ll make do”? (I do that stuff ALL the time, no matter how careful I think I’m being. It makes me absolutely crazy.)

  2. I totally missed that one. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

