the circular runner

updates and a video of my reading debut…

In Uncategorized, writing on August 3, 2011 at 9:29 am

This is going to be short.  I am in an agent letter writing/GED fundraiser organization frenzy.  These two things and just life in general have kept me away from the ol’ blog.  Tomorrow, I will write again.  There’s a book that just came out about humiliation of all things.  I believe it’s written by a poet, and how it examines how the fear of humiliation moves us and changes us in our daily lives.  It’s an interesting coincidence because lately, I’ve been thinking about humiliation and how it affects the educational process.

Stay tune, that’s on tap next.

For now, allow me to keep my fiction writer’s hat on.  In fact, below (or is it above?) you will find a video of me reading.  Though I am not wearing a hat, my fiction writer’s hat is on, FYI.  It’s odd.  I have read my stuff before, but that was a long time ago before I started writing fiction.  Then, I was under the This American Life/David Sedaris spell, which kind of emphasizes the whole performance-reading aspect of storytelling.  But since switching to the made-up stuff, I’ve never thought to read in public.  In a sense, this is my maiden voyage.  In the video,  I’m reading at July’s Quiet Lightning, which is a great lit series here in SF.  A big honor.  Thanks to Evan Karp, the curator/organizer/go-to-guy, for letting me read.

ALSO, let me remind you all that I committed myself to writing 52 short-shorts in 52 weeks a couple months back, and I’m still at it .  You can check out the first 8 stories on my site, the history of things.   My ninth and latest story is on 52 Stories

9 down, 43 to go!!!  WOOOO!  Stay tuned on Sunday for something new.

And now for the video:

Leave a Reply

