the circular runner

Thanksgiving Chronicles, part 2

In life, observations on November 25, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Sitting here in my parents’ house, my mom’s pet bird tweeting around and staying away from my father who invented some kind of rubber pipe that he thinks will give Chica, the bird, a sense of security.  Obviously, dad thinks that the bird is autistic and needs security at all times.

I will admit that I felt a little lazy yesterday to leave my house and my wife yesterday to come down to LA, but it’s been a while since I’ve seen my folks and I kind of know that this will be the last Thanksgiving I can come home for some time.  Starting next year, I assume it will be turkey with my wife’s people since they live in SF.  This means one less occasion for my family to get together.  It’s part of life, to go out on one’s own and create new traditions, but then again, where else can I be entertained watching a tiny bird flee my father’s well-meaning and insistent hands?

There’s no place like home, even though technically, this is my parents’ home and not my own.

Leave a Reply

