the circular runner

52 stories in 52 weeks: a writer’s goal…

In writers & books, writing on May 22, 2012 at 11:30 am

 

 

For almost a year, I’ve had a goal of writing one piece of flash fiction a week for a year.  And for 41 weeks, I was on task.  But in the last month, with a baby and a short film being born, it’s been tough.  Boo hoo!  I know.  Whine, whine, whine.  But hey, I’m a guy, and sometimes we do that.  In fact, where would romantic comedies be if it weren’t for whining men?  Think about it.  It’s especially true of that new sub-genre of Rom-Com about couples having kids.  What to Expect When You’re Expecting or Friends With Kids (for a good review of that movie, see the good folks at Spotless Minds.)

I digress.

SO, now that I’m not whining anymore about my cool baby and a dance movie that I am working on that I think will be quite lovely, I will get to the point of this blog.  I’ve slightly adjusted my goal.  I’ve reassessed.  And this is my goal: I will have the 52 stories done in 52 weeks.  I have one month and 10 shorts to write.  I’m not promising greatness, but I am promising odd, quirky, and, if not that, words.

I’d love to know if any writers out there have similar goals.  If so, please share.  I’d love to hear what you are all up to.  If you want to follow me on my journey, then please come along.  You can see me struggle through the finish line at the end of June.  Here’s my fiction site:

www.g-martinezcabrera.com

Wish me luck!

 

 

 

 

  1. Don’t mind if I do.. tag along that is 🙂
    (hope the babe is doing wonderfully)

Leave a Reply

