the circular runner

i’m starting a slow-blog movement…wanna join?

In humor, life, observations, Uncategorized, writing on June 5, 2012 at 6:16 am

Here in the Cali, Northern California to be specific, there’s a lot of talk about the slow-food movement, which basically means people who go somewhere to eat food that once upon a time, some loved ones would’ve cooked for them.  Because I am not a group-person, I kind of avoid movements, and San Fran is really in love with their movements.   Truth is slow food is a good thing. But it’s not a movement.

Now, I say this, but I will admit that sometimes I think SLOWness should be a movement.  I’ve said this before.  But as I’ve gotten older, I don’t feel like I’m slowing down, I feel like I’m going faster.  OK, I can’t run as fast as I could before, but mentally, I seem to keep speeding up.  When driving some place, I am already thinking of the three things I have to do after I get to where I’m going, which means I spend miles driving by beautiful things that I am not concerned with because I’m concerning myself with a near future group of events that are probably not pleasurable.  I sleep ok (when the baby allows) but sometimes I get up and start reading articles or making lists of what I want to do next.  Even as I write this post, I’m already thinking I have to get out of here and go spend time with wife and the boy, and after that, I want to work on a script because I need to get a draft done this week, and because tomorrow I need to work on the fundraiser for my GED program, and…you get the point.

It’s not that I’m busier than other people.  Most people lead busy lives.  There’s just something about how I treat my day.  Life is becoming a list of things to check off, not a day of memories.  As a fiction writer, this is no-bueno.  I know this because it can sometimes take me hours to get in the head space to tell a story.  It takes time getting to know a character. Maybe that’s why writing is hard for me and yet, so necessary for my sanity.  I need the slowness that writing affords me.

I knew this.  I’m sure all you artists know it as well.  But I was reminded of this fact by a blog I just discovered called the good bad people.  The author writes things that might be called poetry or poetical prose.  What matters, at least for me, is that reading the blog slowed me down tonight, and for that I am appreciative.

Nw just so we’re clear: I’m not saying we should go out and protest against speed.  Save your picket signs and go read something that makes you think.  Then, go write slowly or eat slowly or drive slowly, but not too slowly.  I mean, I have to get where I’m going and I don’t want to wait forever.  I have things to do.

  1. The slow movement makes a lot of sense to me…though I think it’s a learned talent and a lot of people never get it. We spend the first thirty or so years racing through everything like we think there is some grand prize awarded at the end. No doubt kids and the continuous stream of demands call for some of the fast pace. I knew I was in trouble when I wrote Get A Divorce on my To-Do list. For a few months it rested between Neuter the Dog and Buy More Vacuum Bags. Definitely time to take a break. Love The Good Bad People. Thank you for the introduction.

  2. Like you, I find a lot of sanity through writing, both kinds–the slow process of academic writing, and the racy free associative gymnastics that clear out the buzzing for a while. At the moment I’m wishing for a little momentum to shake up the meditation I’m currently mired as I work up a solid revision of my final paper. But the blogosphere nudges and tugs, and it’s reassuring and distracting to know that all of you are out there. Thank you very much for the ping.

  3. I often say I spend way too much of my time “chasing the clock.” Over the past few weeks, though, I’m spending a lot of time sitting in a room in a hospice with my mom, who is (slowly) losing her 5-year battle with brain cancer and recently-developed DVTs in leg (ankle to hip) and lungs. While there is a lot of sadness and worry and stress, and way too much time away from Husband and Only Daughter and my beautiful home in the woods, the days are long, and I am making a point to notice and try to enjoy them. It’s a surreal time, but I’m learning good things about time and life and relationships and priorities that I hope will not be quickly forgotten.

    • Thanks for this. You know, sometimes I think like the comedian, Louis CK. He has this bit where he says that the best case scenario when you love someone is that they stay in your life until either you or he die. I have never lost anyone close, but I know it’s coming for me. It comes for everyone. I hope I handle it as well as you seem to be doing.

      Be well,
      gabe

      • Love Louis CK. He’s very funny.
        And thank you. Doing my best. Some days that’s better than others, but there it is.
        I always want to ask about your gravatar. For a long time I thought that was a picture of you, but apparently you have a new baby, so maybe not. Or maybe you’re Abraham. Is there a story behind the picture? (Just tell me if I’m being nosy.)(But if you could answer it anyway, that would be great.)

      • not too nosy. though there is a part of me that likes the idea of telling people I am like Abraham. That’s kind of cool. Alas, I am a good bit younger, a good bit balder, and my smile is not as wide.

        Which leads me to why I picked this pic. I saw it on some site, and I just thought it represented such joy–truly and uncensored. I hope to be like that when I’m older. Of course, the guy in the pic could be crazy, which is possible. In which case, I guess you have to be crazy to be joyful–a sad thought.

      • Definitely joyful, and I smile every time I see it, so good pic(k) (see what I did there?)

  4. I am totally in agreement with what you have described… as usual, with me, so much easier said, than done! Very nice blog – goodandbadpeople… thanks for the info/intro… and the reminder that pacing ourselves can be very pleasant…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

